Case Studies

Rescorla award

by msecadm4921

The United States authorities have set up the Rick Rescorla National Award for Resilience, in memory of Richard “Rick” Rescorla. During the September 11, 2011 terrorist attacks, Rescorla led the evacuation of Morgan Stanley’s 2700-person workforce in the World Trade Center, saving the lives of many of his co-workers. He died in the WTC.


“Rick Rescorla’s heroism during the 9/11 attacks and commitment to the preparedness of the thousands of employees under his watch serves as an inspiration and model to all of us,” said Secretary of Homeland Security Janet Napolitano. “The Rick Rescorla National Award for Resilience recognizes outstanding response to a catastrophic incident and leadership in fostering resilient and prepared communities.”

The Rick Rescorla National Award for Resilience is the Department of Homeland Security’s (DHS) first national resilience award for superior leadership and innovation by a non-governmental individual or organization who exemplifies the qualities and achievements of Rick Rescorla, emphasising leadership in effective preparation, response, and recovery in the face of disasters.

Following the 1993 terrorist attacks on the World Trade Center, Rescorla drilled his Morgan Stanley employees in disaster preparedness and response. Rescorla’s actions and his commitment to preparedness ensured that the 2,700 Morgan Stanley employees who worked in the South Tower knew how to evacuate and where to go on 9/11. A Cornishman, Rescorla served in the Vietnam War, and his unit’s story was featured in the book and later Hollywood film We Were Soldiers Once and Young.

Last year, Secretary Napolitano honored Rescorla posthumously with the DHS Distinguished Public Service Medal, the Department’s highest honor, and announced the creation of the Rick Rescorla National Award for Resilience.

For more information on eligibility and criteria for the Rick Rescorla National Award for Resilience and how to nominate an individual or organization, visit A US individual or organization may be nominated for the Rick Rescorla National Award for Resilience beginning April 1 to May 15, 2012. The award will be presented annually, starting September 2012.

Related News


Subscribe to our weekly newsletter to stay on top of security news and events.

© 2024 Professional Security Magazine. All rights reserved.

Website by MSEC Marketing