Case Studies

Director elections at Institute AGM

by Mark Rowe

The Security Institute’s 2021 Annual General Meeting (AGM) is, like so much else, going “virtual”; on Wednesday, April 21. The Institute says that the AGM will recap an eventful year, and will be the first since Peter Lavery FSyI was elected as the new Chair. Institute figures will give updates. Steven McGrath MSyI and Andrew Donaldson MSyI, the new Counter Terrorism Special Interest Group Co-Chairs, will cover Institute’s contribution to the UK Government’s Protect Duty consultation, which is running from last month to July 2.

As for the wider security community, last summer (as featured in the September print edition of Professional Security magazine) the Inclusive Security Special Interest Group (ISSIG) launched. Its Co-Chairs Anna-Liisa Tampuu ASyI and Lisa Reilly will review the group’s work over the past few months and outline their plans to help drive positive change for the sector. Paul Barnard CSyP MSyI will give an update on the Institute’s ‘Next Generation in Security’ scheme. The past year saw the launch of ‘Secure Futures’ with the EY Foundation, which has provided work experience for 27 young people to gain an insight into the world of security. Paul will be joined by some of the ‘Secure Futures’ graduates to discuss their experience, and what we can do as a sector to help attract young talent.

The meeting will be hosted on a new live virtual event and networking platform that allows members to ‘pull up a chair’ and chat in small groups, with the ability to move around the virtual space and choose who to network with.

Security Institute Membership Engagement Manager, Jade Lapper said: “So far in the last year we have held many successful digital events, with one of the highlights being our virtual Annual Conference week in October. One thing that we haven’t been able to achieve yet is that real-time face-to-face networking that a lot of our members long to restore. The new platform we are using to host this year’s conference gives a fantastic solution to this, offering all members the chance to not only catch up with those members that they already know, but to meet new contacts who all share a like-minded enthusiasm for security.”

Institute members can book to attend this year’s AGM here:

The 2021 AGM Voting

As well as the event itself being digital, this year’s AGM voting is also taking place digitally. This year’s election is a significant one for the Institute, as there are eight places on the Board of Directors that are up for election.

There are 11 Institute members standing in the Director elections:

•Tony Aston FSyI
•Sarah Austerberry CSyP FSyI
•Ian Carter FSyI
•Angie Clarke CSyP FSyI
•Carl Dakin CSyP FSyI
•Rowena Fell FSyI
•Bhanu Goud MSyI
•Mahbubul Islam CSyP FSyI
•Rob Kennedy CSyP FSyI
•Ashley Watson MSyI
•Paul Wood CSyP FSyI
•Richard Woolford CSyP FSyI

On April 1, all members eligible to vote (Associates, Members and Fellows including retired members) will have received an email with instructions on how they can participate in this year’s voting. Voting will close during the AGM, with the results announced by the Secretary.

Related News


Subscribe to our weekly newsletter to stay on top of security news and events.

© 2024 Professional Security Magazine. All rights reserved.

Website by MSEC Marketing